Confernce: A Forest of Knowledge about the Texts and Images regarding Buddhist Saints, Sages, Translators, and Encyclopedists

Date of event:   14/10/2021 − 16/10/2021

Full Title: A Forest of Knowledge about the Texts and Images regarding Buddhist Saints, Sages, Translators, and Encyclopedists: A Conference in Honour of Dr. Koichi Shinohara’s 80th Birthday
Duration: 14–16 October 2021
Time: Conference begins daily at 6:00 am PDT | 9:00 EDT | 2:00pm UK | 9:00pm China
Registration: [click here]
Hosted by: Glorisun Global Network for Buddhist Studies at University of British Columbia (UBC), Vancouver, Canada; Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA; Institute of Asian Civilization, University of Zhejiang, Hangzhou, China

This online international conference is jointly hosted by the Glorisun Global Network for Buddhist Studies at UBC and Yale University, and the Institute of Asian Civilization of the University of Zhejiang in honour of Prof. Koichi Shinohara. For over half a century, Prof. Shinohara’s research has deeply inspired and influenced the fields of Chinese Buddhist studies, East Asian Buddhist studies, Religious studies, and those who specialize in cross-cultural research about sacred biographies or hagiographies. This conference will honour his career by emphasizing his contributions to the study of medieval East Asian Buddhist texts and images, as well as explore other topics such as monastic biographies or hagiography, medieval Chinese Buddhist studies, East Asian Buddhist literature and especially encyclopedias or compendia.

This event free and open to the public.

For more information about the event and schedule, please see the website here.

 

Image: Illustration from Fayuan zhulin 法苑珠林 (A Forest of Pearls from the Dharma Garden), National Institute of Japanese Literature 国文学研究資料館.